I Ate a Sub Today – IBS Triggers

For months, I’ve been craving a turkey sub from Subway with lots of veggies and ranch dressing. This used to be my “usual” before I stopped eating wheat. So today, I got one! It was delicious! Reintroducing wheat into my diet has been ok so far, but it’s only been 4 days. I’m hopeful, but at the same time not hopeful. I had really psyched myself up about wheat-free being the answer, and I was totally ready to do that if it meant that I could live without bloating, pain, and urgency. So far, it seems like my bowels truly are “irritable”. Not too many things definitively seem to cause an episode for me. Here’s a list of what I can think of what will trigger an IBS episode most of the time:

  • Salmon…sad because I love it, and it’s healthy
  • Sushi that isn’t made with cooked fish (so sad, one of my favorite foods)
  • Too many raw veggies (although I’ve gradually been adding a few into my diet lately, yay!)
  • Too much red meat (like an entire steak)
  • An overabundance of wheat (kind of inconclusive right now)
  • Almond milk
  • Magnesium. HORRIBLE.

Honestly, I just really want my life back! I want to be confident that I can travel places without worrying about how I’ll feel. We’ve been trying to plan a getaway for a few days, but I get anxiety every night thinking about how my IBS will react, The last time we traveled (to the Canadian Rockies! I should do some recap posts), I did great all week until the day we flew home. The car ride to the airport was excruciating, and I honestly thought I wasn’t going to make it to the bathroom several times. This is what sucks about living with IBS…the total uncertainty of it.

I leave you with a pic my sharp-eyed fiance took a few days ago of a Summer Tanager. This is the second time we’ve seen one this year at Blendon Woods, but the first time he was close enough to get a great picture! We don’t typically see them, so we were super pleased 🙂

Summer Tanager

Leave a Reply

