Almond Milk – Adverse Effects

I had a super-busy week at work last week, so I didn’t get to post as often as I wanted! Anyway, I made an effort last week to at least reduce the amount of gluten that I ate, which I hope is helping! I definitely have not felt as bloated in the past week as I usually do, other than on Sunday, but that was a special circumstance (more below).

We went shopping on Saturday night to get some ingredients to make Cheddar Bay Buscuits, like the ones from Red Lobster. I found gluten-free Bisquick which amazed me, but we went for the regular flour since it was our first time trying out this recipe. I was also sad to see that the gluten free mix was about double the price as normal Bisquick. I know it’s a “specialty” product, but still…

Anyway, we also picked up a small carton of Silk Pure Almond Vanilla almond milk to try. I have read raves of almond milk on one of my favorite blogs, Clean Eating Chelsey, so I decided to try it. After chilling the milk for a while, I took a sip. It was delicious! To me it tasted very similar consistency-wise to skim cow’s milk, but with an incredible almond flavor. My boyfriend liked it as well, and finished the little container.

The next morning, I woke up with fairly bad intestinal cramps. Since I have IBS, I’m sort of used to that and didn’t think anything of it. I took a Bentyl and laid back down, but was up a short while later having some of the most watery diarrhea I have ever had! I know that’s probably an overshare, but it was a little scary (and this is coming from someone who has had a lot of diarrhea, sadly). I had several bouts of diarrhea before it finally stopped.

While I was sitting in bed recovering, I decided to search for almond milk causing diarrhea. Immediately, several links popped up confirming that it can cause diarrhea. Some people speculate it’s the additives in the milk, while others say it’s just because the milk is pretty rich. Whatever the reason, I don’t think I’ll be trying almond milk again! Which is too bad, because I loved the taste!

10 thoughts on “Almond Milk – Adverse Effects

  1. I have suffered the same exact reaction several times! A lot of people blame an additive called carrageenan for almond milk induced diarrhea, but Silk Pure Almond Vanilla does not list carrageenan as an ingredient. Something in it definitely doesn’t agree with me though so I’m staying away from this stuff. It’s a shame too because this is such a tasty product!

  2. I stick with this small carton of almond milk I get off the shelves by the organic section. No diahrrea there! I have noticed that every time I drink Silk’s almond milk im in the bathroom for a bit. Especially with the chocolate. There is a difference between the two brands (I can’t remember the brand I use I just see it and grab it lol) but I think silk used more ingredients than what they say..

  3. Your blog confirmed it for me that it was the Almond milk. Too bad because I loved the taste and how it seemed to curb my appetite. I think I’ll try rice milk now.

  4. Well me too, I guess I have my answer. I drank one 6oz glass and got bad diahrrea too, I had several bouts for a few hours. (sorry I know ,TMI). I thought it was a stomach bug. So today, a week later I decided to try it again. Well Im gonna find out. uggh! Its too bad, I also like the taste and it has a lot of health benefits. Bummer.

  5. I’m really encouraged to know that all of you have had this reaction as well! An update on this: I’ve also figured out that I can’t eat whole almonds either. If I eat more than a few, I have the same problem. It’s too bad, because I love almonds and almond milk!

    • Almond freas sounds good but too many carbs. Silk’s total carb is only < 1 carb per 8 oz , cant beat that. For those of us that have to count carbs, (pre-diabetic) Silk is the better choice. I tryed it again and so far so good , no diahrrea.

  6. I recently drank some Silk Almond milk. As a person, who cannot remember having diarrhea, I was shooting runny bowels all day. Thank goodness for tissue plugs. Silk, definitely has something extra in their product.

Leave a Reply

