Wheat Free Weekend

So my aim was to go gluten-free all weekend, but that derailed on Sunday when I decided I really wanted spicy chicken nuggets from Wendy’s…anyway…

I spent all of Saturday wheat-free (except an accidental bite of pie crust)! I woke up in the afternoon, so I started off with lunch at my boyfriend’s house. His mom is from Laos, so she cooks the most awesome food, and of course it usually has only rice! So, for lunch we had grilled steak, Asian cucumber salad (not like the American kind, it’s spicy!), and sticky rice.

Grilled steak, cucumber salad, and sticky rice!

We then napped for a couple of hours! So relaxing! For dinner, we went to a local restaurant called The Clarmont. I’m not sure how to describe the food…upscale traditional American steakhouse? In any case, I had one of the specials – the Mojito Trout! It was delicious! I also had a Baby Bibb Salad and a small slice of the best banana cream pie ever (that’s where I ate the accidental bite of pie crust, oops)! All-in-all, it was a very enjoyable evening.

Unfortunately, I still felt really bloated on Saturday night. This bummed me out since I had been really careful about what I ate all day. So, on Sunday I didn’t avoid wheat at all. And of course, today (Monday), I feel great! Much less bloated than normal. I’m guessing (?) that it’s probably from me avoiding wheat on Saturday, but I really don’t know.

I feel like I can go totally wheat-free if I can just find some good wheat-free bread. The only kind I tried recently was pretty terrible – hard and tasteless. Any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

